Klaus Eckhof

Executive Chairman (Dip. Geol. TU, AusIMM)

Mr Eckhof is a geologist with more than 20 years of experience identifying, exploring and developing mineral deposits around the world. Mr Eckhof worked for Mount Edon Gold Mines Ltd before it was acquired by Canadian mining company Teck. In 1994, he founded Spinifex Gold Ltd and Lafayette Mining Ltd, both of which successfully delineated gold and base metal deposits. In 2003, Mr Eckhof founded Moto Goldmines which acquired the Moto Gold Project in the Democratic Republic of Congo. There, Mr Eckhof and his team delineated more than 20 million ounces of gold and delivered a feasibility study within four years from the commencement of exploration. Moto Goldmines was subsequently acquired by Randgold Resources who poured first gold in September 2013.

Mr Eckhof is also a director of Okapi Resources Ltd (ASX: OKR), and Carnavale Resources Ltd.


Nigel Ferguson

Managing Director (BSc Geology, FAusIMM, MAIG)

Mr Ferguson is a geologist with 30 years of experience having worked in senior management positions for the past 18 years in a variety of locations. He has experience in the exploration and definition of precious and base metal mineral resources throughout the world, including DRC, Zambia, Tanzania, Saudi Arabia, South East Asia and Central America. He has been active in the DRC since 2004 in gold and base metals exploration and resource development.

Mr Ferguson is also Managing Director of Okapi Resources Ltd (ASX: OKR) and Managing Director of Huntsman Resources, an unlisted public company.



Non-Executive Director (Dip. Engineering (Civil))

Mr Brans is an experienced director and civil engineer with over 45 years’ experience in project developments. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Australian Potash Limited and Carnavale Resources Ltd. Previously, Mr Brans was a founding director of Perseus Mining Limited and served on the boards of Syrah Resources Limited, Tiger Resources Limited and Monument Mining Limited. Throughout his career, Mr Brans has been involved in the management of feasibility studies and the design and construction of mineral treatment plants across a range of commodities and geographies including for gold in Ghana, copper in the DRC and graphite in Mozambique. He has extensive experience as an owner’s representative for several successful mine feasibility studies and project developments.



Non-Executive Director

Mr Hongliang Chen is a nominee of the Huayou Cobalt Group to the AVZ Board. Mr Chen joined the Huayou Cobalt Group in May 2002 and is currently a director and the president of the parent company, Shanghai stock exchange-listed Zhejiang Huayou Cobalt Co Ltd. Mr Chen previously worked in management positions at the Agricultural Bank of China, Tongxiang Branch Investment Corporation Tongxiang Securities Department and Shenyin Wanguo Securities Co Ltd.


Non-Executive Director

Mr Guy Loando is a qualified lawyer based in Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). He has significant experience with corporate and legal matters in the DRC, and has recently been involved in executive management roles in the resource sector. Mr Loando has joined the Board as a nominee of AVZ’s largest shareholder, Dathomir Resources sarl. Mr Loando's role is to assist with liaison with AVZ’s joint venture partners and various local, state and federal Government departments as development progresses at the Manono Project.


Company Secretary

Mr Mathew O’Hara is AVZ's Company Secretary. Mr O’Hara (BCom, CA) previously spent 12 years working at an international accounting firm in both the audit and assurance and corporate advisory divisions providing a range of services to listed, unlisted public and private companies operating in the resource sector.

rhett brans.jpg